When you add a failed over node back into a cluster, the cluster will treat it as if it is a new node. This means that you should rebalance after you add the node to the cluster. This also means that any data stored on disk at that node will be destroyed when you perform this rebalance.
A failed over node will not longer be synchronized with the rest of the cluster; this means the node will no longer handle data request or receive replicated data.
Therefore, before you add a failed over node back to the cluster, it is best practice to move or delete the persisted data files before you add the node back into the cluster.When you add a node(failovered) back into the cluster and then rebalance, data files will be deleted, recreated and repopulated.